Honoring People for their Contributions to Engineering and Society


AAES is in the process of dissolving. As part of that process, the awards are being transferred to other societies (with the exception of the AAES Chairs Award which is being terminated). Information on the future home of each award will be posted when the transfers are finalized as well as shared with our Member Societies. Please see below for award descriptions and information on past recipients.

Gallery of Recipients

National Engineering Award

The National Engineering Award is presented for inspirational leadership and tireless devotion to the improvement of engineering education and to the advancement of the engineering profession, as well as to the development of sound public policies as an engineer-statesman.
2018 Award Recipient,  Past Recipients

Kenneth Andrew Roe Award

The Kenneth Andrew Roe Award is presented on behalf of the engineering community to recognize an engineer who has been effective in promoting unity among the engineering societies.
2018 Award Recipient, Past Recipients

Norm Augustine Award for Outstanding Achievement in Engineering Communications

This award is presented annually to an engineer who has demonstrated the capacity for communicating the excitement and wonder of engineering. The award is to be conferred on those rare individuals who can speak with passion about engineering — its promise as well as its responsibility — so that the public may have a better understanding of engineering and a better appreciation for how engineers improve our quality of life.
2018 Award Recipient,  Past Recipients

John Fritz Medal 

The John Fritz Medal is presented each year for scientific or industrial achievement in any field of pure or applied science. It was established in 1902 as a memorial to the great engineer whose name it bears.
2018 Award recipient, Past Recipients

AAES Engineering Journalism Award

The Engineering Journalism Award recognizes outstanding reporting of an event or issue that furthers public understanding of engineering.
2018 No award, Past Recipients

Joan Hodges Queneau Palladium Medal

Established by the National Audubon Society in 1977, the Joan Hodges Queneau Medal recognizes an individual who encourages cooperation between engineering professionals and environmentalists to create innovative solutions to environmental problems.
2018 Award recipient, Past Recipients

AAES Chair’s Award

The AAES Chair's Award is presented by the AAES Chair to recognize an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the welfare of our nation.
2018 Award Recipient, Past Recipients